jump to navigation

Another neat story: in her 70’s and still beating MS February 16, 2009

Posted by Rebecca Hoover in Testimonials - stories from real people who have beaten MS.
trackback
the way to beat MS is to follow a healthy low-fat diet, rest when needed, exercise and have goals.

Stories from all generations point the way: the way to beat MS is to follow a healthy low-fat diet, rest when needed, exercise and have goals.

Julie Calder introduces this story: Doreen is a wonderful woman who is in her seventies, very strong and an inspiration to me. I first spoke to her when I was starting the George Jelinek diet–we compared notes and found similarities.

She strongly encouraged me to stick to the diet. I have never forgotten how she told me that when she was first diagnosed, she could not even walk to the end of her garden, without having to crawl back and that her doctors were ready to confine her to a wheelchair! She told me it was after she changed her own diet to a low-fat diet and made other lifestyle changes, she started recovering.

Nowadays, she walks for miles with her dog, Murphy, nearly every day. Just recently, she phoned me to tell me that her doctor had said that she had “cured herself”. She described herself as “the lady who used to have MS”.

Here’s her story in her own words —

I am not going to list the symptoms of MS, we all know those and it is not helpful to raise agitation in those already suffering from them. Neither am I going to list seemingly endless supplements as these are very expensive and not everyone is able to afford them. True, I took Vitamin E, B complete, lecithin, blue fish oil and had an injection of B12 once a month for many years, and no doubt derived much benefit.

I avoided all meat, dairy products, sugar, white flour and all processed foods. A diet which we would all benefit from following.

My MS was diagnosed over thirty years ago in the Maidavale hospital in London by the then leading neurologist in the country–Mr. Henson.

I had hitherto led an active, very public and professional life and the years that followed were filled with feelings of isolation and desolation. I remember one day standing alone watching a little stream flowing under a bridge near my home and I prayed aloud that a friend might be found for me and that friend proved to be the catalyst for my total healing.

This is a story that was to span over thirty years. She was/is a yoga teacher and together we met the fear, despair, frustration and everything else that goes along with this debilitating condition.

I had never experienced unconditional love before, i.e., love that first gives and asks for nothing in return, and it was this love that set the wheels of healing in motion. Today, I have forgotten all about MS and am fitter than I have ever been in my life.

“And there remain three things. Faith, Hope and Love and the greatest of these is Love”

I struggled with an exercise bicycle twice a day, practised my yoga and found a balance between rest and exercise. I sought the help of the late Ted Fricker — world famous healer and kept my eyes forever fixed on simple goals. On my darkest days I refused to believe that I was beaten. I knew beyond doubt that I would once again, walk my dog. Today, we think nothing of five miles.

It takes a lot of effort and a lot of courage, but it can be done. I did it and so can you.

Doreen Kirby

Please let me know if you find my blog helpful. Please add a comment. What did you like? What would you like added? Thanks! Together we can change the way the world views MS. Please also join the Intelligent Guide to MS page on Facebook. I will use that page to make timely posts on new research and other issues likely to be of interest to others.

Please remember to with consult your doctors about how to stay as healthy as possible. Nothing here should be interpreted as medical advice. Instead, please use the information you find here in your discussions with your doctor.

Copyright 2009 Rebecca Hoover

Add to Technorati Favorites

Tags:  Multiple Sclerosis, MS, Diet, Exercise

Comments»

1. Gareth Jackson - February 18, 2009

I take issue with you over the use of the word ‘cure’ in this story.
Where is the proof?ie MRI scans showing repair.I am very pleased this lady has found something which helps her and has improved,but that is not a cure,and it is wrong to give false hope.
I have had MS for over twenty years. Back then,there were no drugs for MS and when they did arrive I was so used to dealing with it I chose not to have them.I have managed my symptoms over the years and am still relapsing/remitting with a slight limp.
Three years ago I was using a wheelchair,a phrase which is so much nicer than ” end up in a wheelchair” that remark always makes me shudder and really should not be used. Through time and the excellent support of a neurological physio,plus an awful lot of work by me I was back on my feet. I have always re-acted well to heat and spend my summers in the mediterranean,where the hotter it gets,the better I am.
MS is a complex condition and we all re-act differently to treatments whatever they maybe.

2. Rebecca Hoover - February 18, 2009

Gareth,

Thank you for sharing your feelings about this story. I agree with you that “cure” is not the most accurate word but I also appreciate Doreen’s story, words and enthusiasm. When I am 75, if I am still walking five miles without any assistance, I might view my situation as a “cure” too.

Please consider this: there are many younger persons who are diagnosed with MS who are frightened of what the future holds; and Doreen’s story offers reassurance that many, with lifestyle changes, do very well with MS.

Congratulations on coping so well with your own MS. Thanks for pointing out your reaction to heat. I will check the research on heat again when I have time to see if I can find some studies on this.

Best wishes. I hope you continue to do well.

Rebecca

3. chekoala - February 22, 2009

Thanks for this post, Rebecca, Julie and Doreen. It was indeed a pleasure to learn about Doreen’s experience.

All the best

4. Diana De Cardenas - June 26, 2010

thanks for all the valuable infi. Would like to add that daily meditation will balance the body’s stress levels and allow it to heal. Besdt wishes to all, Diana

5. Tammy Venable - November 5, 2010

Thank you so much. I am one of the newly diagnosisd that needs to hear the inspirational stories of positive actions irregardless of the terms used. I went to my first local MS support group looking for hope and a battle plan. I sadly realized it was sponsored by a pharmacuetical company and not for me. I now have hope after finding your site/page. I can work at being an empowered woman with MS vs a sedated, crippled, victim. Again, thank you.

Rebecca Hoover - November 5, 2010

Tammy,

And thank you for your nice comment. Try not to worry too much! Most can live great, happy, fulfilled lives with MS. After hearing a million scary stories, I wish more people would find this site and find out what can be done to live quite successfully with MS.

Rebecca

6. John - June 22, 2012

The person in question (Doreen) is my mother who is now 83 years of age and living a normal life (for her age), and she is on a normal diet. She has a new dog and walks 2 miles every day.
Personally, I used to be very sceptical about my mothers healing (“cure”), but this was more for ideological reasons; (I was an evangelical Christian at the time, and resented her involvement with a spiritual healer). However, I am now far more open to the possibility of metaphysical healing. Ted Fricker was a remarkable man. Psychic phenomena were often witnessed by those who knew him. It is my present view that my mother was healed, and this view is shared by certain persons known to us in the medical profession.


Leave a Reply

