jump to navigation

Another great story shows it’s never too late to start beating MS with ultra healthy living August 11, 2012

Posted by Rebecca Hoover in Diet - the right diet for MS, what you need to eat, Testimonials - stories from real people who have beaten MS, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Diagnosed with MS in 1986, Mona Sen spent 22 miserable years struggling with MS. Then she discovered neurology Professor Roy L. Swank, M.D., and her life turned around. She is another person whose story shows that it is never to late to start getting healthier with ultra healthy living. Whoa! Mona Sen is looking healthy, happy, fit and younger than her years too. Notice the great sparkle in her eyes!

Since I started writing this web site, individuals with MS from all over the world have written to me and told me how ultra healthy living has opened up a world of possibilities for them. Here’s another story from Mona Sen:

__

My story I’m sure began like many other people’s. I was diagnosed in 1986 at age 20. What does a 20-year-old do but listen to the powers that be which in my case included my parents and Harvard medical school. I went along with huge doses of steroids, lithium, lumbar puncture and the whole bit. I really think I suffered needlessly for many years. My diet was ridiculous — standard fare including dairy, saturated fat and processed foods. Who knew?

I continuously got a little worse over the years. Went to graduate school got a master’s in occupational therapy of all things and continued to deteriorate. I had been on Betaseron since 1995 and had a “hypertensive” episode with stroke level blood pressure in 2005. I knew I never wanted to be in the ER again.

I survived all this and felt a change in thinking coming on. In 2008 I had another episode and in retrospect my diet consisted of lots of saturated fat. By this point I was on disability. I then discovered LDN by accident and my mobility was pretty much by scooter. I fought with my own neurologist and then found a doctor friend who gave me a script.

That was the beginning of my journey. After starting LDN in 2008, I discovered Dr. Swank. His book is a fixture in my kitchen. I stopped all toxic medication. Right now I take LDN, mind my food intolerances, use my WalkAide to build my muscle strength and wear a small but flexible brace which is more comfortable. I have gotten rid of that standard ankle foot orthosis (AFO) brace. My leg strength is better even with the foot drop and I’ve started walking again for exercise and fun.

A low-fat diet, LDN, a hell of a good attitude, a sensible schedule which includes rest, a multivitamin and a new zest for life is my recipe for success. I have been exacerbation free since 2008. Oh and everyone says I look great!
__

When I asked Mona Sen if she would tell her story on this web site since it would be helpful to others, she wrote back: “Rebecca, of course my story can be used. I am exhausted trying to get others to listen, even people in my own MS group! I am not working anymore and my time is my own. I see this work as part of my ‘mission’ and life’s work!” Isn’t that true for many of us? Once we learn that eating right and the basics matters, we are out to save world! I love it! If we don’t change the world, who will?

Please let me know if you find my blog helpful. Please add a comment. What did you like? What would you like added? Thanks! Together we can change the way the world views MS. Please also join the Intelligent Guide to MS page on Facebook. I will use that page to make timely posts on new research and other issues likely to be of interest to others.

Please remember to consult your with doctors about how to stay as healthy as possible. Nothing here should be interpreted as medical advice. Instead, please use the information you find here in your discussions with your doctor.

Copyright 2012 Rebecca Hoover

Add to Technorati Favorites

Comments»

1. Mona - August 11, 2012

Thanks Rebecca! Finally I’ve told the world my story!

patricia - August 11, 2012

Well written Mona. I totally agree with you in everything you say, as you know I also take LDN and it’s very good. I have been feeling a lot better since taking it, started in January.

Our attitude towards MS is so important. Once we keep a healthy one everything else goes along with it, like diet and meds.

It’s very hard for people to understand ms. I am blessed. I have good friends and a very supportive family.

A lady said to me the other day, “You’re always tired, get over yourself, it’s only MS and you don’t look like you have it.” I was very upset, but this made me stronger and I am grateful for who I have in my life .

I would like to add to this, a note about naltrexone. I am surprised a lot more people don’t know about it. It’s in pill form, no side effects.

karen mcfall - August 11, 2012

Patricia,
I know how you feel. People always say that to me. I wear a brace and everyone says what happened and I say my leg is weak. That’s why I have to wear the brace and they look at me funny. People always looked at my mother when she was in a wheelchair due to ms. People are sometimes just ignorant. But keep that positive attitude.

2. Laura Baden - August 12, 2012

Great comments, healthy lifestyle is the key to my success as well. Graduated from college in 1983,I was handed a diploma in one hand and the MS diagnoses in the other after optic neuritis my senior year. After getting home I immediately joined a gym and have exercised 5 days a week ever since. Now of when the MS drugs first came out my neuro had me on copaxone for 3 years and then switched me to rebif which gave me horrible side effects. That’s when I found LDN and have been on if ever since. At 52 I’m no longer working but thanks to a healthy lifestyle, a positive attitude and LDN I’m living life to it’s fullest.

3. Dee - August 17, 2012

I have a fes walk aid to help with footdrop but would like to know of a lightweight foot brace any suggestions please?

Mona - August 22, 2012

Hi Dee,

Found this by accident too. If FES has helped strengthen your foot a bit, you may want to google “swedish brace” or something like that. They make some light weight alternatives.

chris - September 30, 2012

The Dorsi Lite worked well for me.

Dee - October 1, 2012

Thank you I will take a look at the Dorsi light

4. Mona - August 22, 2012
dee - August 22, 2012

thanks will take a look at the site as i find the fes ok to help with muscle strength but uncomfortable to walk with, you’ve done amazing job with the diet, i am on my third month so improvements are slow. keep up the good work its an inspiration to me.

5. Mona - August 23, 2012

Stay with it. Trust me, old symptoms might always remain but when you don’t have relapses and don’t feel weak all over — you will know the diet (and of course attitude) is doing wonders. Be patient and good luck!

6. Mona - August 23, 2012

Dee — forgot to ask, are you doing low dost Naltrexone as well as diet?

Dee - August 24, 2012

Hi, yes i have been taking LDN for the last 4years but I wasn’t following the diet plan call me lazy but then I paid the price with a nasty relapse which resulted with the foot drop. I already feel brighter and have more energy, my focus is now to start regular excercise.

7. Mona - August 28, 2012

Great! I can’t help but think there is a special combination with diet & LDN. Exercise will come. I have a blog that really describes my everyday — thoughts plus other things. If you get a chance, check it out:

http://www.msonthemind.blogspot.com

Mona

8. matthew - October 4, 2012

What is LDN? I want to cure fast. I have ms diagnosis. Relapsing, I think. Please tell me what to do to cure. God bless.

Rebecca Hoover - October 4, 2012

Hi Matthew,

Thanks for reviewing the information. I have good news and realistic news. First, the good news — the odds are on your side. If you adopt ultra healthy living, the chances are very good that you can live a relatively happy and full life with MS and have minimal disabilities. The realistic news — there is no fast cure for MS. The best approach seems to involve lifestyle improvements. Folks report that they notice change in the first couple of months but they really began to see the slowly developing improvements after two, three, and more years of ultra healthy living. That’s good — I am almost 63 and look better than most my age. The longer one is on an ultra healthy lifestyle, the better one feels. The best approach I’ve found is outlined by Dr. George Jelinek, a university medical professor, who also has MS. His web site is at

The research shows that LDN is a mood enhancing drug and this may help with MS because it cheers you up while the lifestyle improvements start having an effect. It is not clear from research that LDN helps MS in other ways but there is little research so we don’t really know.

Good luck. Both Dr. Jelinek and I do Facebook pages too that can be a great source of support and info. You’re not alone.

Rebecca

Dee - October 4, 2012

Hi Matthew

You can find out about LDN from the’LDN research trust’ the web page informs you of all you need to know and how to obtain a prescription for it. I have been taking LDN for 4years it does help my ms symptoms but I have still experienced relaspses, I have in the last 6 months started to follow the oms lifestyle and can now say have experienced small changes therefore the ultra healthy living is so important along with the LDN it works for me and a friend of mine, I hope you find the info helpful. Thanks to people like Rebecca Hoover and George Jelinek they are remarkable people.

Good Luck

Dee

9. Mike - October 6, 2012

I am on a paleo diet and supplements, but I’m going a little crazy. Can I eat any other snack items like dark chocolate occasionally or roasted almonds? Any insight?

Rebecca Hoover - October 6, 2012

Mike,

I definitely am worried about your use of a Paleo diet. The saturated fats from red meat cause serious problems for those of us with MS. I do not recommend a Paleo diet since there is no scientific evidence that such a diet can help MS; in fact the research suggests that most versions of the Paleo diet will harm those with MS.

That said, I also don’t recommend eating dark chocolate because of the saturated fat. You can make a tasty substitute by blending a banana, some water, a handfull of pasteurized almonds and a heaping tablespoon of raw organic cacao in a blender. You can might even add another fruit such as strawberries. That is a healthy and very tasty way to get chocolate.

As to roasted almonds – pasteurized ones are better because the fat in them has not been altered by heat.

Good luck!

Rebecca

10. aliaonearth - January 4, 2013

Hi mona, Rebecca and everyone,

I was diagnosed with MS at the age of 17 and although i had 3 or 4 relapses over the years (I am now 32), it was only in the last 2 years that i began to have walking difficuties (foot drop, weakness in the hip flexer and imbalance) and experiencing fatigue. I have been on the OMS diet for a year now, admittedly with some mild cheating. I sometimes have chicken (breast only, no skin) and will occasionally sprinkle some Parmesan on my pasta. But other than that, I take the recommended doses of vitamin D and fish oil. I exercise very regularly (swimming, tai chi, Pilates and yoga once a week each) and have always been among the happiest people I know. I eat fish very regularly, and I meditate occasionally. Most importantly, i have significantly decreased the pace of my life.

A year after changing my life and my diet, I am still no better. In fact, I seem to be slowly slipping into further disability. My balance is worse than it was a year ago, and I now have some weakness in my left arm.

Naturally, it has been difficult to keep my spirits up. I continue to read the success stories of those who are on the OMS diet, but Perhaps the OMS diet does not work for everyone and this is something we have to accept? I am not yet giving up: my new year resolution is to cut out chicken and dairy products altogether, and to meditate daily. But I am bracing myself for the possibility that this diet does not work for everyone.

At least there is hope in that it works for some people, and hope that there will be a cure of sorts within a decade.

Alia

Rebecca Hoover - January 4, 2013

Hi Alia,

Thanks for all of the information on how you are doing. I am glad you are following the OMS program and I do hope you stop cheating a bit. Cheating is really not a good idea.

I have a few other ideas for you. First I notice you don’t mention spending time in the sun tanning a little. I think the sun is really important to healing up. I suggest you look at what Jelinek has to say about this and consider spending some time in the sun. Also, I wonder if you are avoiding sweets (that’s a good idea) and if you need more vigorous exercise. We don’t want to overdo the exercise but weight lifting and aerobic exercise such as brisk walking or jogging is important. I mention this because it sounds like you need to be stronger than you are but are not doing much to increase your strength. Increasing strength will also help you balance.

Finally, please think about zinc. When we stop eating red meat, it is easy to run short on zinc. Please think about taking a zinc supplement but no more than the recommended daily allowance. This will help with strength and balance in many cases.

It sounds like you are a real warrior — keep working hard and good luck and be well.

Rebecca

11. yovelaa bawa - May 6, 2013

I am suffering from MS n was diagonosed wid it at age of 15.. I had a relapse wen i was 20.. Severe one.. My right leg trembled.. Even till date i dont have the confidence of walking.. I have problems in walking which i can not even help.. Today it has been 6 yrs i am suffering from this disease.. And i have been shifted to daily injection-Gletrexon..
So i request u to help me in figuring out my diet as my family has no knowledge about the type of diet and supplements to be consumed in MS.. Can you please list up the names of products and supplements that can help me.. Otherwise i am only having the same regular diet as taken by other family members.. N its effects are really trechourous n horrible for me..

Rebecca Hoover - May 6, 2013

Hi,

I think you need to learn to eat an MS diet right away. For help doing this, see the Swank MS Diet book, by Dr. Roy Swank. You can borrow that book from your library or get it on Amazon.com. Two web sites can also help you eat right: http://www.swankmsdiet.org/About%20The%20Diet and http://www.overcomingmultiplesclerosis.org/Recovery-Program/Diet/Foods-to-Enjoy/ (see also http://www.overcomingmultiplesclerosis.org/Recovery-Program/Diet/What-Not-to-Eat/). For supplements, I suggest enough vitamin D3 (not D2) to keep your vitamin D level at the high end of the normal range and about 20 grams of fish oil each day. Some vitamin B12 is probably good also.

Best wishes. Try not to make things too complicated. It is best to just stop eating junk and to start eating ultra healthy. You’ll be glad you did.


Leave a comment